Rennet is an enzyme essential to cheesemaking. It sets, or curdles, the milk so that the curds separate out from the whey. Traditionally, rennet comes from the stomach of a calf, lamb, or goat, but today there are vegetarian versions available. All have the same coagulating ability
Rennet must be kept refrigerated or it will lose its potency.