What is it?
Rennet is an enzyme essential to cheesemaking. It sets, or curdles, the milk so that the curds separate out from the whey. Traditionally, rennet comes from the stomach of a calf, lamb, or goat, but today there are vegetarian versions available. All have the same coagulating ability. Rennet is available in solid tablets (as shown) or in liquid form.
How to store:
Rennet must be kept refrigerated or it will lose its potency.
Invented in southern Italy, burrata began as a frugal way for cheesemakers to use mozzarella scraps, namely by blending them with fresh cream and wrapping it all up in a ball…
Nothing compares to the fresh taste of homemade feta. Traditionally made with sheep's milk, this Greek cheese is equally delicious when made from store-bought cow's milk. What gives it the…